Monday, May 23, 2011

Taking the bus - no one understands



I work on a university campus that has a few locations. They have buses that transport students, faculty, and staff between the various locations and it is a free service with ID. I live about a 1/4 mile from one of the campuses. Over the past few years I have ridden the bus randomly to help with the rising cost of gas but it helps the environment too, so extra bonus.

I enjoy riding the bus. I am not one of those people that get sick while reading in a car, so it is the perfect time to get some reading done and not stress about the commute to work.

I am not the perfect environmentalist and I have been rather inconsistent with my bus riding schedule in the past. Most of this is due to traveling for work and needing to leave my car at rental car places while I am gone. But I have made it to a point at my job where I no longer have to travel...(YAY!)...so I have had plenty of opportunities over the past month to get back into riding the bus almost every day. (I occasionally drive when I know I have a bunch of errands to do.)

Riding the bus has been great. It is a freeing experience. I enjoy my morning and afternoon walks to/from the bus stop. I enjoy talking to people on the bus. I like taking in the sights of the city I am soon saying good bye to.

What makes me laugh is how people can't seem to comprehend my taking the bus. People have offered to drive me to work, drive me home from work, etc. It is nice that they offer but that's not the point of my taking the bus. I live in an area that is quite dependent on individual transportation. Yes there is a bus system but most people I know have cars and prefer to drive themselves everywhere. Its seems like the only reason someone would take the bus is because they need to. People cannot wrap their minds around the fact that I am purposely choosing to take the bus. I have a car, it works just fine....I prefer to leave it at home and make use of public transportation, because I can.

Oh what an interesting world we live in.....

1 comment:

  1. Good for you for taking the bus. I on the other hand have the opposite experience. I HAVE to take the bus since living in the city a car is more of a hassle. I love getting a car and driving up North which gives me a break from riding on mass transit. Keep up your bus riding ways!! You are doing better for yourself and the environment!!

    ReplyDelete