
I guess you could say I'm at a Crossroads of sorts. I have been pretty undecided lately. Like I have mentioned before, I am at the point in a diet when I am starting to get bored with the whole dieting concept. This is usually the time when I decide to give in and go back to my old eating habits hoping that I don't gain any of the weight back...even though I am going back to my old eating habits that got me big in the past. (Somehow the concept has always worked in my head - yet I have never been successful with it, go figure.)
This time I want it to be different. It has to be different. I need to make this work. I weighed in this morning and I can now officially say that I have lost 60 pounds since September. That is a MAJOR accomplishment. That is something to be very proud of! And I am. Don't get me wrong. I am very proud of myself. I am just looking at the future and doubting my ability to keep it off. I have failed every other time so what is going to be different about this time?! I have a problem with long term commitment when it comes to losing weight. I am really pretty good at taking it off, I just have a problem with keeping it off.
I have been weighing my options lately and I can't decide if I want to go off the plan because I have been experiencing a lot of stress and I am an emotional eater that uses food as a crutch or is it that I have reached the moment in my diet when it is time to transition. Do I begin transition to see if I am ready?
I was talking to a co-worker yesterday and I said that I have done really well at secluding myself from food situations so that I could be successful in taking the weight off. But now is the time that I have to work on my will-power. I have to start putting myself in situations where I will be tempted to see if I how I handle the pressure. Over the past 4+ months, every time I was put in a stressful situation, I always caved and ate things. Maybe I didn't eat horribly and I was able to show some sort of resistance, but I still ate more than I had planned to.
I don't think I am going to come to an answer right away. I am going to need to be patient. Usually I am a VERY patient person....except when it comes to weight loss.
Wish me luck and I would love any advice you have for me blog world!
Happy Friday!
Normally I hate giving advice about this stuff. People think cuz I'm sorta skinny that I never have to worry about what I eat, that I naturally have a fast metabolism.... but AU CONTRAIRE!!! I just watch what I eat closely. But I don't "diet". I just make good decisions... I think that's perhaps the key. So ok, you've reached a goal.... sick of dieting? Good... cuz I don't think dieting is the best thing for people anyway. But from here on out, just think before you eat, and chances are you'll make good decisions... doesn't mean you can't enjoy a treat every now and then! Good luck with it all Erin... I have a friend who just had gastric bypass, and I always respect people so much that actually do the diet & exercise thing first!!!!!
ReplyDelete